Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
6

This Week's Visual Journals

Week 35 and 36 of 2024
6

These are my journals from the last week of August and first one of September. Both involved capturing the late summer hues and a picnic blanket so I was keen to capture the blanket’s pattern. I lay down some old charcoal acrylic gouache and let that dry overnight. Then I scribbled down a few ideas in my notebook and taking took inspiration from some of the lettering I saw in York at the Railway Museum, started in basic HB pencil. I then painted and later finished with ink for the journaling side of the process.

Some highlights involve:

  • A family day trip to York - the Railway Museum (will share pics on a drawing zoom soon), The Shop That Must Not Be Named (Harry Potter), buying some fresh lemonade from a stand full of lemons, a visit to the Oxfam 2nd hand book shop, a milkshake and peanuts at Five Guys, the National Trust shop where I bought a few art supplies.

  • Book binding session with Margaux Kent.

  • Stargazing with the boys before starting back at school.

  • A family trip to Clumber Park (National Trust) - the walled garden is always delightful but at this time of year, it’s got my heart. Mike took the kids to the summer activities on the big lawn so I had a hour to wander and sketch. It was utterly blissful. I drew a specific point of view from under an apple tree and had a lot of fun trying various techniques and would love to revisit this again on canvas.

I’ll no doubt be re-visiting this scene again and again. I love how the apple tree creates a frame to the landscape. To be continued…

Hope you’ve had a great week. xx


Save the date for The Time Foragers’ Club LAUNCH

Saturday 14th September

I will be posting more info during the week, with a club manifesto, a breakdown of what the club will offer to paid subscribers, a Q&A and some launch dates, including drawing dates with Mel Chadwick and Samantha Dion Baker. xx

Discussion about this podcast