Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Transcript
2

A Little About Me and The Time Foragers' Club

A Q&A based on questions received via socials in the past few days
2

In this video my son Caleb kindly interviewed me with 7 questions that have come up often in the last few weeks here or over on Instagram.

  1. Where are you from?

  2. How have learnt how to draw?

  3. How do you find time to draw?

  4. Where do you like to work most?

  5. What is The Time Foragers’ Club about?

  6. Will there be any prizes?

  7. What is the Gazette?

I’ve had more questions since filming this, like:

  1. Q: Will I change meetings times to suit and accommodate different time zones? A: Yes, though I do like to work in day light and love to have evenings with my family. I can imagine meeting some lovely cozy evenings as well as early mornings though so I will definitely try various times. There will be recordings too.

  2. Q: What are your favourite tools? A: I get this question a lot and try to answer it regularly because it changes. I like to experiment and try different materials. I’m also on the hunt for less plastic, more natural pigments and have recently purchased a muller and pestle&mortar so you’ll probably see some locally sourced earth tones in my artwork soon. And I’d love to share that journey of discovery as I go along.

  3. Q: How long will you be in Italy for your artist-in-residency in October (so excited for you!)? A: 4 nights at the Le Mol Sul Farfa guesthouse (with 1 on each side of that to travel there and back). I will be painting a lot and sketching in a travel journal. I can’t wait to share this here with you.

Thanks for your questions and welcome to the club!

Helen x

PS: I’ve shared the details for the Zoom drawing meets over on the CHAT threads (for paid subscribers only).

Share


The Time Foragers’ Club

A time to meet, celebrate the seasons and playfully create together.

Here is a reminder of what is on offer in the club

As a free subscriber, you can enjoy reading and watching:

  • My weekly visual journals as inspiration

  • My Notes which show sneak peeks into my studio and personal stories

As a paid subscriber, each month you will receive:

  • The monthly club Gazette which showcases the group’s artwork and creations, but also some seasonal recipes, poetry, riddles, competitions, announcements etc. {Note: The Gazette is a lighthearted and playful publication. It may sometimes be posted as free content}

  • 1 invitation to a co-drawing meeting on Zoom (recorded)

  • 1 invitation to a co-journaling meeting on Zoom (recorded)

  • 1 invitation to a co-creating* meeting on Zoom (recorded) {*the plan will be seasonal and will be announced in the monthly Gazette prior, these will be a variety of wonderfully creative tasks that we rarely make time for, including writing letters, nature journaling, foraging research, mending, de-cluttering, planning meal batching, creating Christmas decorations, colour swatching, researching favourite art movements, etc}

  • 1 exclusive video* prompt to inspire you {*this will be short and could include behind-the-scenes, a travelogue from a trip, a sketchbook tour, etc}

  • All the archives of previous recorded meets and videos

  • Dates before anyone else. Be the first to hear about in-person events, exhibitions, international workshops and retreats.

As a founding member of the club, you will receive:

  • All of the above paid subscriber perks, plus…

  • A bundle of paper treats in the post on the run up to Christmas which includes carefully selected original artwork, Christmas cards, vintage postcard and other surprises (please share your address).

  • A very big warm thanks for being a patron to the club, its gazette and for helping finance my materials, admin and research time.

Can’t wait to create together!

Discussion about this podcast